top of page

Back to Basics: Astrology 101

Updated: Mar 24, 2021

Okay baby witches if you were like me and began your journey completely overwhelmed and confused on where to start then don't worry, I gotchu.

I’ve got a Taurus moon so you know I love my structure and here is me offing you a little structure when it comes to soaking up some beautiful witchy knowledge. This is part one of a series in 101 blog posts.

Let’s nerd out over some astrology, shall we?

Let’s start with the basics — the groundwork if you will. Here are all 12 zodiac signs and the dates for each of them:

  • Aries (March 21 to April 19) Spring Equinox

  • Taurus (April 20 to May 21)

  • Gemini (May 22 to June 20)

  • Cancer (June 21 to July 22) Summer Solstice

  • Leo (July 23 ti Aug. 22)

  • Virgo (Aug. 23 to Sept. 22)

  • Libra (Sept. 23 to Oct. 22) Fall Equinox

  • Scorpio (Oct. 23 to Nov. 23)

  • Sagittarius (Nov. 22 to Dec. 21)

  • Capricorn (Dec. 22 to Jan. 20) Winter Solstice

  • Aquarius (Jan. 21 to Feb. 18)

  • Pisces (Feb 19 to March 20)

It’s important to note that this is when I believe each season starts. You may see various start and end dates for each season, sometimes they can differ between a few days. This is how I see the start dates and how I will use them going forward. I am also located in the Northern Hemisphere so I’ll be working with these dates and seasons.

You with me so fare? Let’s keep it going.

The Signs and Their Seasons

As we know there are 12 signs that make up the astrological wheel and as we know the hemispheres go through four seasons. The beginning of the astrological wheel starts with Aries. Aries kicks off the Spring Equinox meaning this is when you’ll star seeing the signs of spring. Cancer is the start of Summer, Libra kickstarts Fall and Capricorn is the beginning of Winter.

Now if we do some simple math we can see that 12 signs divided by four seasons based on chronological order, which means three signs per season. Still with me?

  • Spring signs: Aries, Taurus and Gemini

  • Summer signs: Cancer, Leo and Virgo

  • Fall signs: Libra, Scorpio and Sagittarius

  • Winter signs: Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces

When we know the time of year each season starts and ends we are able to figure out what kind of energies that season will bring. It also helps with farming and agriculture purposes to know when plants are expected to bloom, when to plant seeds and when to harvest.

In Spring we want to start planting the seeds and see life come back into our garden, and figure out how we can prepare the earth to sustain the growth. In Summer we practice patience and tend to our growing garden. In Fall we harvest. We pick our crops and reap the rewards from all our hard work. Next comes Winter. We ready ourselves for cold temperatures and long nights. It’s the season where our garden is frozen in time.

See it all works in synchronicity.

Energies Tied to Each Sign

In astrology, each sign is tied to an element: fire, earth, water and air. Get ready for a lil bit more math. So 12 signs four elements means three signs per element.

  • Fire: Aries, Leo and Sagittarius

  • Earth: Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn

  • Water: Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces

  • Air: Gemini, Libra and Aquarius

The similarities between each of these signs is seen in their element.

  • Fire signs are all about movement, energy, creativity, passion and have this lust for life.

  • Earth signs are stable, grounded, like consistency, structure and work so damn hard.

  • Water signs are intuitive, emotionally intelligent, they feel things deeply and have this other worldly quality to them.

  • Air signs are intellectual, curious, free spirited, deep conversationalists, can ebb and flow based on the energies around them.

Taking into account those energies along with the time of year they fall under, you now have a general energy tied to each month.

For example, we may find because the days are darker in the fall and winter seasons that we need more sleep. We may adjust our witchy rituals to accommodate that and because Scorpio season is right smack dab in the middle of fall, we may be more inclined to embrace our more intuitive and passionate side around late October to early November.

Pretty rad, huh?

Of course we’ll go more in depth about the energies and what else comes with that, but this is a great start. Alright witches come anytime if you want more tips.

Hope that helps!



Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page